Mr. Chief Justice Roberts. The “yes” votes included all 55 Republicans, every red-state Democrat but three (Minority Leader Harry Reid, presidential candidate Evan Bayh, and liberal warhorse Tom Harkin), every light-blue-state Democrat but three (Debbie Stabenow of Michigan and Maria Cantwell of Washington, both up for re-election in 2006, and the retiring Mark Dayton), and even liberal stalwarts like Chris Dodd, Carl Levin, and Patrick Leahy.
UPDATE: Chief Justice Roberts:

“I view the vote this morning as confirmation of what is for me a bedrock principle, that judging is different from politics.”

Amen to that. I also see that among the honored guests at the swearing in were the widows of Thurgood Marshall and . . . Potter Stewart? He’s been dead for 20 years (Stewart was replaced on the Court by Justice O’Connor). But apparently his wife is still with us.

One thought on “78-22”

Comments are closed.